August 21, 2014

Scrolling Headlines:

UMass mourns death of alumnus and journalist James Foley -

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Kassan Messiah, Trey Seals to shoulder pass rushing responsibility for UMass football -

Thursday, August 21, 2014

UMass names Blake Frohnapfel as the starting quarterback -

Monday, August 18, 2014

Decision looms for Mark Whipple as UMass football looks to name starting quarterback -

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Former UMass star Marcel Shipp overseeing a strong running back competition -

Saturday, August 9, 2014

Former UMass basketball star Chaz Williams signs professional contract in Turkey, still eyeing NBA career -

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Minutemen anxious to display aggressive defense -

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

UMass football turns the page, excited for 2014 season -

Monday, August 4, 2014

UMass student struck and killed by vehicle Thursday night -

Friday, August 1, 2014

UMass receives anonymous $10.3 million gift -

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

UMass Football summer coverage 2014 -

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Chiarelli: Sam Koch’s impact evident in those who knew him best -

Monday, July 21, 2014

Longtime UMass men’s soccer coach Sam Koch dies after two-year battle with sinus cancer -

Monday, July 21, 2014

Southwest evacuated after gas leak -

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

UMass Rowing finishes NCAA Championships, ends year ranked No. 21 in the nation -

Sunday, June 1, 2014

Two UMass basketball alums to compete for a lofty prize in The Basketball Tournament -

Friday, May 23, 2014

Commencement Photos 2014 -

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Two arrested in relation to series of vandalism -

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Students push for relocation of the Center for Counseling and Psychological Health -

Monday, May 12, 2014

Video: No. 14 UMass WLAX ends season in loss to Loyola (MD) -

Saturday, May 10, 2014

Kishi Bashi to bring unique live experience to NoHo

starbright31/flickr

Violinist extraordinaire Kishi Bashi will bring his captivating live show to the Iron Horse Music Hall in Northampton this Wednesday night. Known for his one-man show live set-up which finds the musician building entire complex avant-pop songs himself utilizing a looper and his violin, this tour will find that setup augmented by two additional musicians.

As the solo project of K Ishibashi of Brooklyn band Jupiter One, Kishi Bashi allows Ishibashi to pursue a musical style vastly different from his main band’s indie pop. Often compared to Andrew Bird, Kishi Bashi’s music is composed of swirling violin runs, hand claps, finger snaps and whistling as well as the many other instruments Ishibashi plays. In addition, Ishibashi sings in both English and Japanese.

Touring in support of his debut solo LP “151a,” released on independent record label Joyful Noise Recordings last year, Ishibashi has previously recorded and toured with Regina Spektor, Sondre Lerche and of Montreal.

“(Bashi is) the only one I’ve worked with in a long time that I would allow to shape the songs,” Kevin Barnes, the singer-songwriter and infamous control freak behind of Montreal told Spinner, speaking of the collaboration process with Ishibashi on his band’s most recent album “Paralytic Stalks.”

Tickets for this event are available for $10 in advance or $12 at the door.

Gabe Scarbrough can be reached at gscarbro@student.umass.edu.

Leave A Comment