Massachusetts Daily Collegian

A free and responsible press serving the UMass community since 1890

A free and responsible press serving the UMass community since 1890

Massachusetts Daily Collegian

A free and responsible press serving the UMass community since 1890

Massachusetts Daily Collegian

SGA election results released Saturday

Sami Webber/Collegian

Voting results for the fall Student Government Association elections were released Saturday.

Out of the 20,873 people who attend the University of Massachusetts, 2,782 participated in the elections, showing that  13.33 percent of the student population chose to vote.

One referendum asking students whether or not they supported a change in the SGA president and vice president’s term of office – switching the term from April 1 to March 1 to April 20 to April 19 – passed with 68.21 percent of voters’ support.

The change was proposed “for the purpose of creating a period for substantive training and transitions for the elected, incoming administration,” according to the ballot.

The five Senate winners of Central included Kabir Thatte with 212 votes, Madison Goldstein with 190 votes, Sandy Recinos with 173 votes, Diego Fellows with 23 votes and Donovan Mackay with 11 votes.

In North, the two winning Senate candidates Lily Fitzgerald and Emily M. Notini had a close race, with Fitzgerald leading Notini by nine votes with a total of 39.

The three Northeast Senate winners, Priya Ghosh, Gabriel Schmitt and Yaz Malas, also had a close race. Ghosh led the way with 124 votes, Schmitt with 116 and Malas with 102.

Canidates Taha Salfullah, Jim McCarthy and Hunter Parent-Wetmore won the election for Sylvan’s Senate seats. Salfullah (69 votes) and McCarthy (66 votes) were close competitors while Parent-Wetmore lagged behind with 33 votes.

The three winning Senate candidates in Orchard Hill had an extremely close race. Stefan Herlitz received 208 votes, Jennifer Raichel earned 205 votes and Matthew Monardo Minafo got 203 votes.

The Commuter Senate race garnered 20 new Senators, with votes ranging from 113 for Christopher Lehmann to 44 for Brian Rucki.

John Huntington (112 votes) and Sean Patrick McGrath (111 votes) were right behind Lehmann.

In Southwest North, six out of eight candidates won positions. Winners included Jenna Murray (215 votes), Willis Chen (194), David Ke (181), Sionan Barrett (160 votes) and Alex Sebahar (159).

Southwest South’s Senate had a closer race with eight winning candidates. Oliver Thibault received 159 votes to top the list. Following closely behind were Alexa Baldacci (154 votes) and Queenette Adegbite with (153 votes).

Baker’s new president is Amy D’Entremont with 49 votes, and Mark Cardellino won vice president with 31 votes. Baker Secretary Brianna Torres won 60 votes and Treasurer Jessica Berger came in close behind with 52 votes.

Brett, Brooks and Wheeler President Kaitlin Quirk won with 26 votes, while Vice President Victoria Conrad won with only two votes. Zubair Nasimi won the treasurer position with 41 votes, and Edwin Cabrera, Hannah Frilot, Kathryn Bagarella and Samantha Weinstein won the secretary position with one vote each.

In Brown, Andrew Trent Taylor won the presidency with 28 votes and Taryn Fernacz won vice president with only one vote. Matthew Robinson is Brown’s new treasurer with 25 votes while the secretary position remains vacant.

Zia Weldman is the new president of Butterfield and Van Meter with 66 votes and Nick Massar won vice president with 23 votes. Butterfield and Van Meter treasurer Andrew Stranberg (21 votes) and Matt Russo (15 votes) both won as well.

Complete Election Results

Mary Reines can be reached at [email protected]

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All Massachusetts Daily Collegian Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *