August 28, 2014

Scrolling Headlines:

UMass crime alerts reveal reports of lewd acts -

Friday, August 22, 2014

UMass women’s soccer hopes added depth brings more consistency in 2014 -

Friday, August 22, 2014

UMass mourns death of alumnus and journalist James Foley -

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Kassan Messiah, Trey Seals to shoulder pass rushing responsibility for UMass football -

Thursday, August 21, 2014

UMass names Blake Frohnapfel as the starting quarterback -

Monday, August 18, 2014

Decision looms for Mark Whipple as UMass football looks to name starting quarterback -

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Former UMass star Marcel Shipp overseeing a strong running back competition -

Saturday, August 9, 2014

Former UMass basketball star Chaz Williams signs professional contract in Turkey, still eyeing NBA career -

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Minutemen anxious to display aggressive defense -

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

UMass football turns the page, excited for 2014 season -

Monday, August 4, 2014

UMass student struck and killed by vehicle Thursday night -

Friday, August 1, 2014

UMass receives anonymous $10.3 million gift -

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

UMass football summer coverage 2014 -

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Chiarelli: Sam Koch’s impact evident in those who knew him best -

Monday, July 21, 2014

Longtime UMass men’s soccer coach Sam Koch dies after two-year battle with sinus cancer -

Monday, July 21, 2014

Southwest evacuated after gas leak -

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

UMass Rowing finishes NCAA Championships, ends year ranked No. 21 in the nation -

Sunday, June 1, 2014

Two UMass basketball alums to compete for a lofty prize in The Basketball Tournament -

Friday, May 23, 2014

Commencement Photos 2014 -

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Two arrested in relation to series of vandalism -

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

UMass hockey gets commitment from local star

Nathalie Sczublewski/Daily Collegian

The Massachusetts hockey team has added some local blood to its recruiting class.

Amherst’s John Leonard, a sophomore forward at Cathedral High School in Springfield, announced via Twitter on Monday that he has verbally committed to UMass.

“I have made my decision to play college hockey at UMass Amherst. I could not have done this without the support from my family and friends,” Leonard said on his Twitter account, @JohnnyLeonard24.

For Leonard, whose father, John, worked as a UMass men’s basketball assistant coach under Steve Lappas, joining the Minutemen was a dream come true.

“It’s always been a dream of mine to play there, and I’ve been going to the games ever since I was a little kid,” Leonard told MassLive.com. “I love the atmosphere there, the fans are great, and (UMass coach John Micheletto) gave me a great opportunity.”

Leonard drew interest from other schools, but there was no doubt in his mind that UMass was where he wanted to be.

“UMass was always my number one choice,” he told MassLive. “I just always wanted to go there.”

Leonard scored 15 goals and had nine assists as a freshman last season, good for second on the team, to help lead the Panthers to the 2013 Super Eight tournament.

Leonard will likely join the Minutemen’s 2016 freshman class that already includes Alex DeBrincat and Jake McCarthy.

Nick Canelas can be reached at ncanelas@umass.edu and followed on Twitter @NickCanelas.

Leave A Comment